Licensing / Registration

If interested in becoming a veterinarian or technician in NC, refer to our Exams page for eligibility/process.

License Verification / Letter of Good Standing

FEE: $12.00 U.S. Funds per State
To request a verification, log into your personal Licensure Gateway account and select Applications / License Verification Request. Upon submission, your verification will be e-mailed to the selected Board(s). Log-In

If you DO NOT have a personal Licensure Gateway account, you will need to submit this paper application form via US mail. Paper Request

LICENSE VERIFICATION SAMPLE

Once the request has been processed, you will be mailed a copy of the license/registration verification. This copy is for your records and serves as notification of when the official verification was mailed.

Pharmacies, banks or other entities seeking confirmation of North Carolina licensure or veterinarians or registration of veterinary technicians can contact the Board off at (919) 854-5601


License / Registration Renewals

NEW GRAD EXEMPTION: You are exempt from CE requirements for your FIRST renewal cycle if you graduate the same year you become licensed / registered in North Carolina.

VETERINARIAN
  • Expire annually at the end of the year (Faculty: End of fiscal year - June 14th)
  • Renewal Fee: $170
  • Renewal Status: License is ACTIVE until December 31st; ACTIVE/PENDING from January 1st - January 31st; ACTIVE/LATE February 1st - February 29th; REVOKED on March 1st
  • FACULTY Renewal Status: License is ACTIVE until June 14th; ACTIVE/PENDING from June 15th - July 14th; ACTIVE/LATE July 15th - August 14th; REVOKED on August 15th
  • Continuing Education: To be obtained prior to licensee's expiration date. Proof of twenty (20) hours required each year - Ten (10) on-line hours of training will be accepted during each renewal, however, five (5) of those hours will need to be 'interactive'. Minimum CE Standards .0206
  • Beginning in 2020, renewals require two (2) hours of CE on the 'abuse of controlled substances'.
VETERINARY TECHNICIAN
  • Expires biennially (every 2 years) at the end of the year; renewal time is dependent upon the initial year of registration
  • Renewal Fee: $50
  • Renewal Status: License is ACTIVE until December 31st; ACTIVE/PENDING from January 1st - January 31st; ACTIVE/LATE February 1st - February 29th; REVOKED on March 1st
  • Continuing Education: To be obtained prior to licensee's expiration date. Proof of twelve (12) hours required every two (2) years - Six (6) on-line hours of training will be accepted during each renewal, however, three (3) of those hours will need to be 'interactive'.
    Minimum CE Standards .0206
  • Beginning in 2020, renewals require two (2) hours of CE on the 'abuse of controlled substances'.

NOTE: A renewal reminder will be sent via e-mail in October so be sure you keep your address updated.

The veterinary Practice Act (Administrative Code .0106) requires that the Board office be advised of all address changes within sixty (60) days of such change. Those changes can be made via the NCVMB's web site by logging into your personal account. The Board office also takes address changes in writing by either mail or fax.

LATE PENALTY
To avoid a late penalty fee you must (1) Renew by the 'grace period' date of the January 31st (Faculty's renewal 'grace period' date ends July 14th) and (2) Obtain CE by December 31st of your renewal period (Faculty: Obtain CE by June 14th of your renewal period).

Penalties:
A 'late renewal fee' of $50 will be imposed if you renew during the month of February. (Faculty: Fee imposed starting July 15th)
A 'late CE fee' of $50 will be imposed if CE is obtained after December 31st. (Faculty: Fee imposed after June 14th)

NOTE: Licenses / Registrations NOT renewed by the end of February are REVOKED on March 1st. (Faculty: REVOKED on August 15th)

 

CONTINUING EDUCATION CONCERNS

  • Half of one's CE (10 hours for veterinarians / 6 hours for technicians) may be computer based in accordance with Administrative Code .0206 (7).
  • Beginning in 2020, renewals require two (2) hours of CE on the 'abuse of controlled substances'; this includes both veterinarians and technicians.
  • Credit for CE is based on one hour (60 minutes) of lecture, lab, seminar, etc.
  • The Board does not accept correspondence-style programs or attendance in exhibit halls.
  • University/College Internship programs can be used as CE credit. Written documentation (i.e. instructor's name, subject/description, hours, etc.) on the University/College program is recommended and should be kept on file should you be randomly selected for a CE audit.
  • CE AUDIT: Random CE audits will be conducted per renewal cycle.
    - Each veterinarian and veterinary technician shall keep a record (certificate of attendance) for the three (3) most recent renewal periods of the content of courses submitted to the Board for continuing education credit hours.
    - CE records (certificate of attendance) must be provided to the Board upon request.
    - If evidence of Board approved CE completion cannot be provided during an audit, the license cannot be renewed and faces revocation.
  • HARDSHIP EXTENSIONS: Per .0206 (4), an individual may request an extension of time to obtain continuing education. They will need to provide evidence (documentation) of a medical emergency, natural disaster or evidence of other circumstances which constituted a severe and verifiable hardship. The NCVMB required request form* is to be submitted to the Board office for review by December 15th. Some extension requests may require the review of the full Board; that review will take place during the next scheduled Board meeting. Not all requests for extension of time are granted.
    *The filling of form fields is not supported; will require opening with differnt viewer.

Reinstatement of a License or Registration

Reinstating a license or registration is when an individual has a status of 'Revoked' with the NC Board and needs to have their license/registration reinstated. (For veterinarians who hold an 'Inactive' status, please submit your on-line reinstatement application by logging into the Licensure Gateway Portal or call the Board office for information/instructions. 20 CE hours a requirement.)

Veterinary License: when reinstated, is current until the succeeding annual renewal window of the reinstated year.

Veterinary Technician Registration: when reinstated, is current until the succeeding renewal window of that two (2) year renewal period. That date is determined by the technician's initial year of registration.

 

REQUIREMENTS:

Option - 1

LESS than three (3) years since your license or registration lapsed.

  1. Submittal of a Reinstatement Application
  2. Renewal fee:
    VETERINARIANS - $170 per year (1 year - $170; 2 years - $340; 3 years - $510) VETERINARY TECHNICIANS $50 per renewal cycle (1- 2 year(s) - $50; 3 years - $100)
  3. Reinstatement fee: $100
  4. Continuing Education Credits:
    VETERINARIANS - 20 CE hours per year (1 year - 20; 2 years - 40; 3 years - 60) VETERINARY TECHNICIANS - 12 hours for one 1 or 2 years; 24 hours for three (3) years since technicians renew biennially (every 2 years).
  5. 'License Verification' or 'Letter of Good Standing' mailed directly from State Board office(s) where one held a license or registration since your NC license/registration lapsed. This does NOT apply if time period is less than one (1) year of revocation date.
Option - 2

MORE than three (3) years since your license or registration lapsed.

  1. Submittal of Reinstatement Application
  2. Reinstatement/Re-exam Fee:
    VETERINARIANS - $250
    VETERINARY TECHNICIANS - $50
  3. This applies to VETERINARIANS ONLY: Have practiced at least three (3) of the five (5) years immediately preceding filing this application OR retake the National Exam.
  4. 'License Verification' or 'Letter of Good Standing' mailed directly from State Board office(s) where one held a license or registration since your NC license/registration lapsed.
  5. Retaking the State Exam is required; be sure to review the application process.
    VETERINARIANS: Click here
    VETERINARY TECHNICIANS: Click here

 

Form  REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION
To submit an on-line Reinstatement application, you must first Register via the Licensure Gateway. Once registered, you will log back in and select the reinstatement application to submit (click on the business card looking item which will open up another window showing multiple options). Please know all required documents, if required, will need to be on file in Board office before the NC license/registration can be processed/reinstated.

ATTENTION: Individuals that are reinstated will need continuing education credits for the upcoming renewal cycle.


Inactive Status of a Veterinary License or Veterinary Technician Registration

A veterinarian or veterinary technician in good standing with the Board and has ceased the practice of veterinary medicine completely, may, according to Administrative Code .0309, request 'Inactive Status'. To qualify, you must NOT be practicing veterinary medicine in any state or hold an Active veterinary license or veterinary technician registration anywhere. An individual still practicing veterinary medicine, employed where a degree in veterinary medicine is required or preferred, would not be eligible for 'Inactive Status'.

To request this status, log into the Licensure Gateway and click on the business card looking item with the word 'Veterinarian' or 'Veterinary Technician'. This will open another window with multiple options. Select 'Inactivate' and submit your request. Once approved, you will be sent a confirmation e-mail.

REINSTATEMENT:
The veterinarian or veterinary technician who has an 'Inactive Status' may have their NC license/registration reinstated at any time. The requirements to reinstate are proof of 20 hours of continuing education for a veterinarian and 12 hours of continuing education for veterinary technicians (2 of these hours are required to be on the abuse of controlled substances), renewal fee and submission of an on-line reinstatement application. Licensure Gateway Portal

 

Contact Us

Phone: 919-854-5601
Fax: 919-854-5606


1611 Jones Franklin Rd, Ste 106
Raleigh, NC 27606