The NC Veterinary Medical Board

Susan Bull, DVM
Azure Holland, DVM
Robin Lazaro, RVT
Sec / Treas  
Ronald Komich, DVM
Allen Cannedy, DVM
Timothy Gold
William Dean, DVM
Michael Martin, DVM

The North Carolina Veterinary Medical Board is an Occupational Licensing Board of the State and was established in 1903. The Board is responsible for governing the practice of veterinary medicine. Its primary responsibilities are examination of applicants, issuing and renewing licenses/registrations, formal complaints, practice name approvals, and inspections of all veterinary practices throughout the State.

The Board consists of eight (8) members; these members are appointed by the Governor, the Speaker of the House, President Pro Tempore, and the Commissioner of Agriculture.

  • The Governor appoints five (5) members to the Board, four (4) North Carolina licensed veterinarians and one (1) member who will not be licensed or registered in the State of North Carolina; each serves a five (5) year term.
  • The President Pro Tempore appoints one (1) North Carolina licensed veterinarian who serves a five (5) year term.
  • The Speaker of the House appoints a North Carolina registered veterinary technician who serves a five (5) year term.
  • The Commissioner of Agriculture shall biennially appoint to the Board the State Veterinarian or another veterinarian from a staff of a North Carolina department or institution.

List of Board Members

2022 Board Meetings

January 13
March 10
May 12
July 7
September 8
November 10

MEETINGS BEGIN: 8:00AM and are usually conducted at the Board Office
    1611 Jones Franklin Rd.
    Suite 106
    Raleigh, NC 27606


Contact Us

Phone: 919-854-5601
Fax: 919-854-5606

1611 Jones Franklin Rd, Ste 106
Raleigh, NC 27606