Dr. Jernigan convened the regular meeting of the Board at 8:03 a.m. In attendance were Board members Drs. Susan Bull, Michael Davidson, Richard Hawkins, David Marshall, Dante Martin, Mrs. Nancy Robinson, R.V.T., and Ms. Katie Morgan. Also present was Board Attorney, Mr. George Hearn, and Executive Director, Mr. Thomas Mickey.

Dr. Jernigan reviewed with the Board, the Governor's and North Carolina Board of Ethics statement on conflicts of interest.

Warren Pendergast, M.D., Medical Director, North Carolina Physicians Health Program (NCPHP), joined the meeting. He presented an update on the status of program since the last Board meeting. After a question and answer period with the Board, he left the meeting at 8:30 a.m.

On a motion made by Dr. Martin, seconded by Dr. Marshall, the minutes for the April 10 & 11, 2008, meeting were approved as corrected.

Ms. Katie Morgan introduced herself to the Board. She has been appointed to fulfill the unexpired term of Ms. Amy Edwards.

The Board discussed the current complaint process and issues relating to the growing length of complaints. Dr. Davidson made a motion that the Board establish a new administrative policy for the Executive Director to process complaints more efficiently by limiting the initial complaint and doctors response to five typed pages and the client's reply to the doctors response to one typed page. Dr. Hawkins seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

The meeting of the Board recessed at 9:20 a.m. for a break, and reconvened at 9:30 a.m.

The Investigator's report on his activities since the last meeting was distributed.

The Executive Director reported on activities of the Board office since the last meeting.

A financial report was distributed to the members of the Board.

The Board reviewed the change to the business standard mileage rate set by the Internal Revenue Service. Dr. Hawkins made a motion to change the reimbursement rate to 58.5 cents per mile to conform to the new Internal Revenue Service rate. Dr. Bull seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

The Nominating Committee presented its slate of officers for 2008-2009. The Committee nominated Dr. Jernigan for President, Dr. Marshall for Vice-President and Mrs. Robinson for Secretary-Treasurer. Dr. Bull made a motion that the slate of officers be approved and elected to their respective positions. Dr. Davidson seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Upon a motion by Mrs. Robinson, seconded by Dr. Davidson, the Board approved the actual expenses for this meeting.

Dr. Bull requested that the Board review its March 24, 1994 decision that microchiping is the practice of veterinary medicine and must be done by a licensed veterinarian. Dr. Davidson made a motion to adopt by reference the section 4b of the April 2006, American Veterinary Medical Associations

policy on, The Objectives and Key Elements Needed for Effective Electronic Identification of Companion Animals, Birds, and Equids." That policy states:

"Implantation of microchips is a veterinary procedure. The subcutaneous or intramuscular administration of an injectable transponder (an electronic identification device) in an animal for an animal owner is an injection procedure and, therefore, constitutes the practice of veterinary medicine. The injection should be done by a licensed veterinarian or under direct supervision of a licensed veterinarian."

Dr. Hawkins seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

The meeting of the Board recessed at 10:35 a.m. for a break, and reconvened at 10:40 a.m.

Report of Committee on Investigations No. 2.

2007029-2	Harold Pearce, DVM & Erik Marshall Clary,
	DVM (complaint of Ms. Loretta J. Cova) -
	Dismissed, no probable cause.
2002005 2	Lauriffor Maria Dalance DVT (complaint Ma

- 2008005-2 Jenniffer Marie DeJanes, RVT (complaint Ms. Jean S. Moser) – Disciplinary action, letter of reprimand.
- 2008003-2 Donna Tyson Dishman, DVM (complaint Ms. Thomas P. Schneider) - Dismissed, no probable cause.
- 2008009-2 Joe Packheiser, DVM & Tana R. Albright, DVM (complaint of Mr. & Mrs. Steve Nelson) – Disciplinary action, letter of caution.

The meeting of the Board recessed at 11:30 a.m. for a break, and reconvened at 11:40 a.m.

As part of the National Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners (NBVME) outreach to veterinary state boards Dennis A. Feinberg, DVM and Mike Thomas, DVM joined the meeting. They presented a history and background of the NBVME and its strategy map for 2007-2009.

The meeting of the Board recessed at 12:10 p.m. for a break, and reconvened at 12:50 p.m.

The Board continued its discussion with Drs. Feinberg and Thomas. Following a question and answer period they left the meeting at 1:15 p.m.

> 2008014-2 James P. Beeson, Jr., DVM & Paul Michael Arfmann, DVM (complaint of Mr. & Mrs. Alan Jones) – Dismissed, no probable cause.

2007021-2 Joel M. Barden, DVM (complaint of Ms. Stacey Merda) – Previously Dr. Barden was issued a letter of reprimand and civil monetary penalty of \$500.00. With Dr. Barden reporting that he has ceased all services with DART, the Board's requested contract is not needed and he has met the requirements necessary to have the Board withdraw the civil monetary penalty. Dr. Hawkins made a motion to withdraw the civil monetary

penalty. Mrs. Robinson seconded the motion.	The
motion passed unanimously.	

- 2008017-2 Dennis D. Emerson, DVM (complaint of Ms. June Holecek) - Dismissed, no probable cause.
- 2008011-2 Charles E. Loops, DVM (complaint of William R. Wilhelm, DVM) – Disciplinary action, letter of reprimand.
- 2008021-2 Christopher Todd Worrell, DVM (complaint of Ms. Elizabeth Anne Huneycutt) – Dismissed, no probable cause.
- 2008019-2 Norman F. Manning, DVM (complaint of Ms. Linda Harbaugh) – Dismissed, no probable cause.
- 2007026-2 Trenna Luise ManWarren, DVM (complaint of the Board) – The Committee reconsidered its previous decision to dismiss the complaint and instead a letter of caution.

Mrs. Robinson made a motion to approve the Committee on Investigations No. 2 report. Dr. Davidson seconded the motion. The motion

passed unanimously with Dr. Hawkins abstaining on complaint no.

2007029-2.

Report of Committee on Investigations No. 5.

- 2008001-5 Paige MacKenzie Smith, DVM (complaint of Ms. Rebecca Klein) – Dismissed, no probable cause.
- 2008008-5 Jennifer D. Rodriguez, DVM (complaint of Ms. Kathleen M. Sadocha) – Continued, add the owner of the facility, Jack Dale Brown, DVM, and allow him the opportunity to respond to the complaint.
- 2008013-5 Stanislaw Naruszewicz, LW & Matthew Kurtz Wendelken, DVM (complaint of Ms. Caroline Cameron) – Dismissed, no probable cause.
- 2008010-5 Jimmy A. Shaver, DVM (complaint of Mr. James C. Johnson) – Disciplinary action, letter of caution.
- 2008015-5 Kim R. Logner, DVM (complaint of Ms. Brenda C. Bolding) – Dismissed, no probable cause.
- 2008006-5 Leslie Yow, DVM & Jennifer Lynn Johnson, DVM (complaint of Mr. Jeff Bianchi) – Dismissed, no probable cause.

2008016-5	Jennifer D. Rodriguez, DVM (complaint of Ms.
	Barbara Gray) – continued.

2008012-5 James E. Brown, DVM (complaint of Ms. Donna

Atwood) – Disciplinary action, letter of reprimand.

2008002-5 Melissa Bame Beagle, DVM (complaint of Ms.

Janice Wrenn) – Dismissed, no probable cause.

2008020-5 Lori Ann Scappino, DVM (complaint of Ms. Rebecca Height) – Disciplinary action, letter of caution.

Dr. Bull made a motion to approve the Committee on Investigations No. 5 report. Ms. Morgan seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

The meeting was adjourned by unanimous vote upon a motion by Dr. Hawkins and seconded by Ms. Robinson at 3:23 P.M.

Respectfully Submitted,

Thomas M. Mickey Executive Director