President Linwood Jernigan, D.V.M., called the regular meeting of the North Carolina Veterinary Medical Board to order at 8:04 a.m. In attendance were Board members Drs. Amy Lewis, Susan Bull, Richard Hawkins, David Marshall, Dante Martin, Mrs. Nancy Robinson, R.V.T., and Ms. Amy Edwards. Also present was Board Attorney, Mr. George Hearn, and Executive Director, Mr. Thomas Mickey.

Dr. Jernigan reviewed with the Board the Governor's and North Carolina Board of Ethics statement on conflicts of interest.

On a motion made by Dr. Bull, seconded by Dr. Hawkins, the minutes for the November 2, 2006, meeting were approved.

At 8:10 a.m., Warren Pendergast, M.D., Medical Director, North Carolina Physicians Health Program (NCPHP), joined the meeting. He presented an update on the status of program since the November meeting. After a question and answer period with the Board, he left the meeting at 8:42 a.m.

Dr. Marshall made a motion that the Board renew the contact with NCPHP for another six months under the same terms. The motion was seconded by Dr. Lewis. The motion passed unanimously.

The Board's Investigator presented a report on his activities since the June meeting. No further action was taken.

The meeting of the Board recessed at 9:13 a.m. for a break, and reconvened at 9:25 a.m.

The Executive Director reported on activities of the Board office since the last meeting. No further action was taken.

A financial report was distributed to the members of the Board.

Following discussion, Mrs. Robinson made a motion to approve the report.

Dr. Hawkins seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Hawkins made a motion that the Board retain 10% of the money collect from civil monetary penalties to cover the costs incurred by the Board. Following discussing Dr. Hawkins tabled the motion.

The Board reviewed the change to the business standard mileage rate set by the Internal Revenue Service. Dr. Lewis made a motion to change the reimbursement rate to 48.5 cents per mile to conform to the new Internal Revenue Service rate. Dr. Martin seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

The meeting of the Board recessed at 10:50 a.m. for a break, and reconvened at 11:02 a.m.

Report of Committee on Investigations No. 2.

2006034-2 Carla Louise Gartrell, D.V.M., Jerry Raymond
 Waddle, D.V.M. and Sheri Leanne Clarkson,
 D.V.M. (complaint of Mr. Joseph Barr) – The
 portion of the complaint against Dr. Gartrell and
 Dr. Clarkson is dismissed. The portion of the
 complaint against Dr. Waddle is continued.

2006044-2 Thomas R. Bello, D.V.M. (complaint of Ms. Sarah Jane Harmon) – Disciplinary action, letter of caution.

- 2006056-2 Jack Dale Brown, D.V.M. (complaint of Ms.

  Tiffany Bowers) Dismissed, no probable cause.
- 2006058-2 Gale G. Bowman, D.V.M. (complaint of Ms.

  Alison Reichardt) Dismissed, no probable cause.
- 2006046-2 Christopher Dunn Meyer, D.V.M. (complaint of Mr. & Mrs. William Patton) Disciplinary action, letter of reprimand.
- 2006061-2 Charles E. Franklin, D.V.M. (complaint of Ms. Gloria Melton) Disciplinary action, letter of reprimand and an additional 10 hours of continuing education in dermatology.
- 2006030-2 Trudi Marie Dam, D.V.M. (complaint of Ms. Debbie Shelton) Dismissed, no probable cause.

Dr. Lewis made a motion to approve the Committee on Investigations No. 2 report. Mrs. Robinson seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously with Dr. Martin abstaining from the vote regarding complaint Nos. 2006061-2 (Dr. Franklin)

Report of Committee on Investigations No. 5.

- 2006037-5 Danny Henry, D.V.M. (complaint of Ms. Laura

  Lee Raynor) Disciplinary action, letter of
  reprimand and a \$750.00 civil monetary penalty.

  The basis for the penalty is G.S. 90-187.8(b)(1)

  and (3). Ten additional hours of continuing
  education for next year's renewal is also required.
- 2006043-5 Jesse C. Thompson, D.V.M. (complaint of Mrs. Sheri Major) Dismissed, no probable cause.
- 2006057-5 James M. Floyd, D.V.M. (complaint of Mrs.

  Janine Kelly Stevens) Dismissed, no probable cause.
- 2006060-5 Marian Patrice Covington, D.V.M. (complaint of Mr. & Mrs. Chuck Stuart) Complaint withdrawn by client.
- 2006045-5 Kelly Arleen McAvoy, D.V.M. (complaint of Mr. Richard Robinson & Mr. Jim Boyett) Dismissed, no probable cause.

2006038-5 Robert F. Messenger, D.V.M. and Deborah
 Michelle Burba (complaint of Mrs. Carmen
 Daniels-Leslie) – Dismissed, no probable cause.
 2006062-5 Ashley Norther Robertson, D.V.M. (complaint of

Ms. Tana Austin) – Dismissed, no probable cause.

Dr. Lewis made a motion to approve the Committee on Investigations
No. 5 report. Dr. Bull seconded the motion. The motion passed
unanimously with Dr. Jernigan abstaining from the vote regarding complaint
Nos. 2006062-5 (Dr. Robertson).

Dr. Lewis made a motion to enter into a closed meeting pursuant to G.S. § 143-318.11(a)(5), to discuss current and future employment compensation of Board staff. Mrs. Edwards seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously. At 2:07 p.m., the Board entered into closed meeting.

The Board returned to open session at 3:05 p.m.

Upon a motion by Mrs. Robinson, seconded by Dr. Lewis, the Board approved the actual expenses for this meeting.

The meeting was adjourned by unanimous vote upon a motion by Mrs. Robinson and seconded by Dr. Martin at 3:14 P.M.

Respectfully Submitted,

Thomas M. Mickey Executive Director